Property Buzz


The Australian Institute of Architects has unveiled the shortlist for its prestigious 2024 National Architecture Awards, showcasing the country’s most exceptional new architectural projects.

The shortlist features 63 individual projects from across Australia and two international entries, representing innovative designs in residential, community, and commercial architecture.

Stuart Tanner, Chair of the 2024 National Architecture Awards Jury, highlighted the breadth of typologies in this year’s entries and explained the selection criteria:

“We were looking for architects who are using their role and knowledge to go above and beyond, delivering buildings that have an enduring legacy,” Tanner said. “We were inspired by architecture that not only provides solutions to a client brief but is an intellectual exploration and a vehicle for innovation.”

The jury emphasized the importance of regionalism in architecture, favouring projects that demonstrate an authentic response to place and purpose, while acknowledging community and cultural needs.

This year’s jury panel includes:

  • Stuart Tanner FRAIA (Jury Chair), Immediate Past National President of the Australian Institute of Architects
  • Yun Nie Chong RAIA, Founder and Architect at Nie And Co Architects
  • Paul Owen FRAIA, Founder and Architect at Owen Architecture
  • Jemima Retallack RAIA, Director at Retallack Thompson
  • Naomi Stead Hon. FRAIA, Professor at RMIT University

The jury will conduct an extensive in-person judging process, visiting all shortlisted projects across Australia during July and August, with international projects to be judged virtually.


The National Architecture Awards, considered Australia’s premier design prize, will announce the winners at a ceremony in Adelaide on 7 November 2024 at the Adelaide Convention Centre.

This shortlist represents a significant achievement for the architects involved and offers insight into the future direction of Australian architecture across various sectors.

Previous post
Next post
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *